Spiritual Warfare

We have all faced this to some degree. I believe Satan fights us all our life, even before salvation, because he doesn’t want you to come to Christ. He fights as you’re under conviction and the Spirit of God is drawing you to Himself. He continues to fight every day after salvation because he doesn’t want you doing anything for God. 

God has given us SO much in Scripture about this. He tells us who our enemy is, his goal, and how to defeat him. Praise God for that because we cannot stand up to Satan on our own! We will lose every time. But God is so gracious as to give us insight to the schemes of our enemy. 

Who is the enemy? Satan. The Devil. 

What is his goal? Complete destruction. 

1 Peter 5:8, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:”

John 10:10, “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

How do we defeat him?

2 Corinthians 10:4, “(For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strongholds;)

Galatians 6:10-17, “Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:”

We must walk with the Lord and know His Word. 

Now, does that mean Satan will never get the temporary victory over us? No. There are times we will be defeated. I am not here to discourage you, so please stay with me. I want to share some of my own spiritual warfare battles I have had recently. 

Every year our church hosts a marriage retreat. We have done retreats with other churches, and ones where our pastor and his wife lead it and we have time just as a church family. This is usually the last weekend in February or first weekend in March. Thisalso happens to be my birthday weekend. We get away for about 3-4 days, just my husband and I to enjoy some time alone together and to attend the retreat. The meetings are usually Friday and Saturday but we go up Wednesday or Thursday. Once others are there, we spend time fellowshipping with friends, so we go up early to get time alone. Sounds like the perfect mini-vacation, doesn’t it?

Satan thinks so, too. This year my husband and I had a passionate discussion about something on our way home. We weren’t seeing eye to eye and finally he said the conversation was over. I knew it was best to hush, so I did, but I wasn’t happy about it. We get back home, pick up our kids, and get ready for church the next day. Would you believe that Satan used that discussion to attack my thoughts about my husband? Things like “You’ll never be on the same page about this.” “You’re so far apart spiritually.” Thoughts that I had no business thinking or entertaining. But it was overwhelming. The worst part? Those statements are lies. But I was totally defeated. I couldn’t get ready for church the next day without crying all morning and I ended up staying home in bed instead. I simply was not okay at all. 

We had just had a near perfect weekend and then this. Satan attacks when you’ve been spiritually fed and encouraged. Taking time away on purpose to strengthen your marriage and build it on God’s Word infuriates your enemy and he wants to cause division and destruction. Especially after events like this. I just didn’t think about it or prepare beforehand. 

The second incident I’d like to share was more recent. Our 14th wedding anniversary was September 29th. It was a Thursday. I took the day to run errands and get my nails done. My husband took the next day off of work. We spent the day together, had a nice dinner, and Saturday and Sunday were big days at church celebrating the anniversary of two of our ministries. What happens Sunday morning after church? You guessed it. Satan slipped right in and caused problems. This time it was my husband who wasn’t okay. He’s not the stay mad and stew type, but this time, that’s exactly what he was doing. Which of course upset me. He was being quiet and reserved. Not talkative or touchy like normal. I took this personally. And as a result, I matched his mood. I wasn’t talkative either. It affected my entire mood, attitude, and every emotion I have. I was basically depressed, mentally and emotionally exhausted. I didn’t have the want or energy to do anything. I didn’t want to talk. We barely spoke for days.

To me, this is easy. I can sit in my low moods. I don’t like feeling that way, but it’s easier to sit there than it is to pull out of it. But you know what? That’s not biblical. (Side note: I am not talking about true depression episodes. I understand you can’t just pull yourself out of those. This was a depressive moment, not clinical depression.) Letting myself stay in that state of mind made me unapproachable. If my husband was dealing with something spiritual, something stressful, something he was worried about, he wouldn’t have been able to come to me with it when I was like that. I was fine. I was just reacting to his mood rather than maintaining my own emotions. This is not healthy. Marriage is a balance, it is teamwork. Some days your spouse is not okay and they need you to be there for them. When you are irritated, quiet, and distant, that is not what they need. We all have those days, life happens. But to be upset just because your spouse is will not get us anywhere. 

    The Lord just gently spoke to me and reminded me of these truths. God alone is my source of joy, not my husband. I have to focus on Christ. I have to be the helpmeet for my husband. I have to be approachable and there for him. Goodness knows he listens to enough of my issues. I should be there for him as well. I can maintain my mood and emotions when I look to Christ in any situation rather than my husband, or any other imperfect human. 

But again, this was after some big days. This is when Satan attacks. When we let our guard down because things are going so well. Again, I don’t want to discourage you, but I want to help you. 

Pray before those “big days” that Satan wouldn’t get in and cause division. Pray for God’s protection and wisdom. Put on your armor beforehand. We can’t be too careful or too prepared when it comes to spiritual warfare. Pray aloud and let Satan know he is not welcome into your home and marriage. He hears your words but he can’t hear your thoughts and sometimes we need to rebuke him verbally in the authority of Scripture. Let him know he has no jurisdiction here. Prays Scripture aloud as a prayer and statement of protection. 

Stay on guard. Satan never gets tired of fighting us. 

Stay in the Word, stay close to the Shepherd, and let Him lead you in paths of righteousness.

With Hope in His Service,

Heather

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.