15 Things That Have Changed My Thinking and My Marriage

Today I just want to share things that I have been taught/told/shown by God that changed my way of thinking, which in turn changed my marriage. These apply to daily life. Start today.

This is also why it’s important to be in church, pray, and read your Bible for yourself. This is how God speaks to us, teaches us, and grows us.

We’ve never had a bad marriage. But even good things can be made better. I am not a perfect wife, I always have room to learn and grow.

  1. Never talk down to or about your husband in public or in private.
  2. Speak to him as if Christ was standing right next to you.
  3. Romans 5:8. As Christ loves me in all of my sin, flaws, and imperfections, I can love my husband with his because Christ’s love is in me helping me.
  4. Trust him. Your way of thinking may just be flawed a little. You may not have all the information. Learn to trust your husband and his decisions.
  5. Seek to honor Christ and everything else seems to take care of itself.
  6. Be his helpmeet. Genesis 2:18
  7. Respect is to him what love is to you. Ephesians 5:33
  8. If you aren’t praying for your husband and marriage, your prayer life is lacking.
  9. 1 Peter 3, you have more influence than you think.
  10. Never stop dating.
  11. Continue to seek ways to be a better wife. Never stop learning.
  12. Trust God completely. You must lean on Him daily. Proverbs 3:5-6. Don’t apply this only to big decisions.
  13. Always speak with love and grace. Proverbs 31:26, Colossians 4:6
  14. Nagging is not a spiritual gift.
  15. Anything you do for your husband and marriage is never unnoticed by God. Go the extra mile and let God handle the rest.

I understand some marriages are struggling and facing challenges. Please know there is hope and restoration in Jesus Christ. 

This is not an all-inclusive list, but it is a good basis and a good list to start with.

Stay in the Word, stay close to the Shepherd, and let Him lead you in paths of righteousness.

With Hope in His Service,

Heather

3 thoughts on “15 Things That Have Changed My Thinking and My Marriage

  1. Thank you so much for this beautiful wisdom and reminder!
    My marriage is literally in ashes so I pray Gods restoration so that I may apply these truths and grace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I very much needed this today! I’ve always had a wonderful marriage until recently and now I’m desperately trying to hang on to it and recover what we once had. Thank goodness we serve a God who is in the business of restoration and redeeming.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.